Meet the team: Helen ‘Chopper’ Axe, Project Manager

Once upon a time, there was an office in Coventry where PIXELearning employed someone called Helen Axe. Little did she know it was a male dominated office with only one other female, to her surprise she was also called Helen (Helen Routledge to be precise).  With two females both called Helen confusion was bound to set in. To attempt to resolve this, a plan was devised and Chopper was born.

It doesn’t take much to work out why I have been know by Chopper for the past three years, although the list is growing

–          Does she like to ride a Chopper (bike)

–          Does she have a temper

–          Or is it just down to the surname

(please add if you have any other suggestions

I started my service in a marketing role at PIXEL, coming from an admin and design role in the innovative digital pen field; this sees me working with innovative technology for a while now and it still is as intriguing as it was when I first started my career. Not having a background in technology, unless you count mobiles, games consoles and mp3 players (back then) I had never come across the concept of serious games before and found it to be very appealing industry.

Let’s take a little step back.

I attended Coventry University where I left with a BA (Hons) in Communication Culture and whilst there I managed to work on a variety of projects that provided me with the confidence and skills to go after what I wanted. I had the advantage of choosing a dissertation or a final project; guess which one I chose….yep that’s right a final project, and what an excellent opportunity this was. The task involved working with MTV Ukraine creating a music video for an American artist, part of my role saw me filming and editing live gig performances and interviews with key individuals.

Further to this I put my communication skills to the test again in a placement with Sports Aid UK working with the organisation to setup a midlands base. Having a passion for sport this was a dream placement and led me in the direction of becoming a sports journalist (until I realised the starting salary of at least (£10k 7 days a week 😦 ) Changing my plan I moved into marketing which is where my life at PIXELearning began.

The PIXEL era

What a journey it has been so far. My first week I was surrounded in reading, theory and games, I needed to learn the industry, and not ashamed to say still learning, before my first PIXEL client experience. I wasn’t thrown in the deep end at all….

My marketing role took a bit of a backseat and I began using my communication skills to work on a process awareness game for the first 9months. Since this project I have taken on the role of Project Manager leading me to have key involvement in a variety of organisations for Realityworks, Raytheon, Pearson, Ernst and Young and Shell (I’m not afraid to name drop a few more if you would like). One of the longest projects I have been working on is an EU funded project working with a number of partner countries.

With all these clients a spot of charity involvement has been part of the PIXEL forte as well. Over the last two years 4 national competitions focusing on business enterprise have been run with the charity Mosaic Network in which I have had key involved in delivering the technology side of the competition to over 50 schools. It is amazing to see how students learn firsthand and their enthusiasm at the age of 12-14 years for business.

Not being the biggest gamer in the company, preferring the outdoor activities, I have succumb to consoles and now have a fairly extensive collection of games at hand which are research based of course.

It has been an exciting journey so far and looks to get even more so. It is an industry that keeps moving forward and I’m glad to have a part in this.

About Chopper
Chopper….or Helen Axe when she’s not at work holds a BA (Hons) in Communication Culture and Media from Coventry University. Leaving uni I discovered I had an interest in capturing memories through photos. If you would like any of the pictures - putting them onto canvas is an option.

One Response to Meet the team: Helen ‘Chopper’ Axe, Project Manager

  1. Pingback: Meet the new team! « PIXELearning's Blog – Serious Games and more

Leave a Reply

